Audio player

3: A-Z of Sustainability (Part 1)

Description

Hello lovely people, welcome to our eleventh episode, an A-Z of Sustainability- Part 1! We thought what better way to educate ourselves on environmental terms and share our learnings than following the trusty alphabet. Have you ever wondered what biodiversity, deforestation, horticulture and a circular economy actually mean? Or what the term "just transition" is all about? Have you heard rumblings of the IPCC or Ireland's Climate Action Plan but never knew where to start? We tackle all of this and more. We hope you enjoy listening to this as much as enjoyed researching it! *Unfortunately Clodagh's mic had a mind of its own on this recording so she does sound like she is underwater in certain sections. HOWEVER, the content is still great. We appreciate your understanding as we continue to navigate the virtual waters of recording over Zoom! As always, thank you for listening. If you enjoyed this episode or any previous episodes please do like, subscribe and share a review. We'd really appreciate it :)All our love, Katie & Clodagh SHOWNOTES:Word of the year: https://www.theguardian.com/books/2019/nov/07/climate-strike-named-2019-word-of-the-year-by-collins-dictionary The Guardian changing language in relation to environment: https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/may/17/why-the-guardian-is-changing-the-language-it-uses-about-the-environment A: Activism: This is a document with so many collated resources to aid our shared learning and understanding of systemic racism, white privilege and how to be anti-racist:  https://docs.google.com/document/d/1U3DVqtfv-SAQ3Vq0VDVSylfo15a_4mj7aZPiUXcZ5e4/editThe Albedo Effect: https://www.skepticalscience.com/earth-albedo-effect.htm B: Biodiversity: https://greenschoolsireland.org/biodiveristy/ https://www.theguardian.com/news/2018/mar/12/what-is-biodiversity-and-why-does-it-matter-to-us // Biodegradable vs Compostable: https://bioplasticsnews.com/2019/04/13/what-is-the-difference-between-biodegradable-compostable-and-oxo-degradable/ C: Climate Action Plan: https://www.dccae.gov.ie/en-ie/climate-action/publications/Pages/Climate-Action-Plan.aspx D: Deforestation: https://www.livescience.com/27692-deforestation.html https://www.nationalgeographic.com/environment/global-warming/deforestation/ // Downcycling: https://www.buschsystems.com/resource-center/knowledgeBase/glossary/what-is-downcycling E: Circular Economy: https://www.ellenmacarthurfoundation.org/circular-economy/concep // Eco-cide: https://ecocidelaw.com/the-law/what-is-ecocide/ // Ecosystem: https://biologydictionary.net/ecosystem/ F: Fossil Fuels: https://www.nationalgeographic.com/environment/energy/reference/fossil-fuels/ // Forest Bathing: https://time.com/5259602/japanese-forest-bathing/ G: The Gulf Stream: https://blogs.ei.columbia.edu/2020/01/02/climate-change-gulf-stream/ // Greenwashing: https://www.lexico.com/definition/greenwash H: Horticulture: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3B6iRgUgmI I: IPCC: https://www.ipcc.ch/ J: Just transition: https://climatejusticealliance.org/just-transition/

Comments

Listen to 6: Summer Series with Front Line Defenders: The Changing Climate of Sierra Leone with Joseph Rahall from Green Scenery

6: Summer Series with Front Line Defenders: The Changing Climate of Sierra Leone with Joseph Rahall from Green Scenery

2020-09-24
0
Listen to 5: Summer Series with Front Line Defenders: The Journey of Our Plastic Waste with Lay Peng Pua

5: Summer Series with Front Line Defenders: The Journey of Our Plastic Waste with Lay Peng Pua

2020-08-27
0
Listen to 4: Summer Series with Front Line Defenders: Saving The Amazon with Marcelo Cwerner

4: Summer Series with Front Line Defenders: Saving The Amazon with Marcelo Cwerner

2020-07-30
0
Listen to 2: GOOD NEWS ONLY!

2: GOOD NEWS ONLY!

2020-05-28
0
Listen to 1: The V Word- What's It All About?

1: The V Word- What's It All About?

2020-02-26
0