Audio player

2: Food Waste- What The Fork?

Description

Welcome back to Climate Queens! This month we are exploring FOOD WASTE and the journey of our food from farm to fork. Have you heard of Food Waste before? Did you know that there is a difference between food waste and food loss? We will be chatting all about this and so much more. Grab your cup of tea or coffee and settle in as we explore some great tips on how to be smart with your shopping & how you can reduce your food waste with our three simple steps, which will be your new BFF!Ireland is now the second country to declare a climate emergency after the UK:https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/ireland-declares-climate-emergency-things-will-deteriorate-rapidly-unless-we-move-very-swiftly-38098129.html Greta Thunberg graced the cover of time magazine:  http://time.com/collection/100-most-influential-people-2019/5567758/greta-thunberg/ 7 million acres of land were saved in the amazon rainforest:https://www.upworthy.com/millions-of-acres-of-rainforest-saved-a-tiny-amazon-tribe-just-defeated-big-oil-in-a-historic-lawsuitONE THIRD of food is wasted globally every single year:http://www.fao.org/save-food/resources/keyfindings/en/If food waste were a country it would be the third largest ommiter of green-house gases - after the USA and China. http://www.fao.org/3/a-bb144e.pdfOver 800 million people experiencing chronic undernourishment and food poverty:  https://www.worldhunger.org/world-hunger-and-poverty-facts-and-statistics/ 2017 stats 1 in 8 people experience food poverty in ireland https://food.cloud/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/Annual-Report.pdfUpdated to 1 in 11: https://food.cloud/the-problem/ 1 million tonnes of food is wasted in Ireland every year: https://www.dccae.gov.ie/en-ie/environment/topics/sustainable-development/waste-prevention-programme/Pages/Stop-Food-Waste0531-7331.aspx Equivalent to filling Croke Park: http://voiceireland.org/our-work/food-waste/ The difference between food loss and food waste:http://www.fao.org/food-loss-and-food-waste/en/40% Food Loss & 40% Food Waste:https://ec.europa.eu/food/safety/food_waste/stop_en16% of crops wasted in UK: https://www.independent.co.uk/environment/fruit-vegetables-food-waste-farms-uk-birmingham-manchester-feedback-a8220171.html Use By and Best Before Dates: https://www.fsai.ie/faq/shelf_life/best_before_and_use_by.htmlFood wasted due to confusion over labelling: http://www.europarl.europa.eu/RegData/etudes/BRIE/2016/593563/EPRS_BRI(2016)593563_EN.pdfJust Eat It Documentary: http://www.foodwastemovie.com/ Climate Quiz, Project Drawdown: https://edition.cnn.com/interactive/2019/04/specials/climate-change-solutions-quiz/index.html 1000 litres of water in one glass of milk: https://www.unitedutilities.com/faq/bills-payments/what-does-a-litre-or-cubic-metre-of-water-cost/ €700-€1000 spent every year on food waste: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/turning-food-waste-into-profit-1.3097437The effect of food waste in landfill: https://www.moveforhunger.org/the-environmental-impact-of-food-waste/Over ⅓ of our bins is made up of organic waste: https://stopfoodwaste.ie/resource/food-in-our-bins/ Tristram Stuart Ted Talk (14 minutes): https://www.ted.com/talks/tristram_stuart_the_global_food_waste_scandal?language=en#t-507837 Solutions: StopFoodWaste:https://stopfoodwaste.ie/The Food Waste Diversion Project: https://www.facebook.com/diversionproject/ Sustainable Food Shopping; Evocco: https://www.evocco.com/ Recipe Key:http://www.recipekey.com/Food Cloud: https://food.cloud/Falling Fruit: http://www.fallingfruit.ie/Misfit Foods: https://misfitoddsquad.com/ Toast Ale: https://www.toastale.com/ Feeding the 5000: https://feedbackglobal.org/campaigns/feeding-the-5000/ Voice Ireland: https://voiceireland.org/food-waste.php

Comments


Listen to 1: What Even Is Fast Fashion?

1: What Even Is Fast Fashion?

2019-04-22
0